• Hello Parents, Guardians, and Scholars!

     
     

    Monday, August 21st is a...


             

    School begins at 8am each day! Please be sure that your scholars are in school, on time, and in complete uniform. We don't want them to miss anything


    Uniform Attire

    Monday Attire:

    Young ladies and young men should wear navy blue or black bottoms with blue oxford shirts, navy blue or black ties, and shoes with a sole that is not black.

    Tuesday-Friday Attire:

    Young ladies and young men should wear navy blue or black bottoms with their grade level specific polo.

    6th Grade: Carolina Blue Polo

    7th Grade: Navy Blue Polo

    8th Grade: Heather Gray Polo 


    Monday, August 21st- (B Day)

    Professional Dress Uniform

     

    HALLWAY SWEEPS BEGIN!

     


    Tuesday, August 22nd-(A Day)

      

    Black or Navy Uniform Bottoms


    Wednesday, August 23rd-(B-Day)

    ORANGE AND BLUE DAY for MIDDLE SCHOOL

    Please be sure to reference the dresscode.

     


    Thursday, August 24th- (A-Day)

     

    Black or Navy Uniform Bottoms


    Friday, August 25th- (B-Day)

      

    Black or Navy Uniform Bottoms


     

    Spanish Team Weekly Updates

    Últimas Noticias Semanales de la Clase de Español

    8th Grade (8vo grado)

    Homework Due: August 21 (B-Day) & August 22 (A-Day)

    Fecha de Entrega de Tareas: 21 de agosto para el Día B y 22 de agosto para el Día A

    • Vocabulary Man Unit 1 Lesson 3 & Unit 1 Lesson 4
    • Hombre de Vocabulario Unidad 1 Lección 3 y Unidad 1 Lección 4
    • Quizlet Parent Calendar (Past due)
    • Calendario Quizlet mini pruebas firmado (atrasado)
    • Signed Syllabus by parent and scholar (Past due)
    • Plan de Estudios firmado por tutor y becario (atrasado)
    • Non-Native classes need one composition or spiral notebook, and one 3-prong folder
    • Clases no nativas necesitan una libreta de 70-100 páginas y una carpeta
    • Native classes need one composition or spiral notebook and two 3-prong folders
    • Clases nativas necesitan una libreta de 70-100 páginas y dos carpetas
    • Questions? Please e-mail ssegovia@uplifteducation.org
    • ¿Preguntas? Por favor manden un correo electrónico a ssegovia@uplifteducation.org

    7th Grade (7to grado)

    Homework Due: August 21 (B-Day) & August 22 (A-Day)

    Fecha de Entrega de Tareas: 21 de agosto para el Día B y 22 de agosto para el Día A

    • Signed Syllabus by parent and scholar (Past due)
    • Plan de Estudios firmado por tutor y becario (atrasado)
    • Scholars need one composition or spiral notebook, and one 3-prong folder
    • Becarios necesitan una libreta de 70-100 páginas y una carpeta
    • Questions? Please e-mail kgracia@uplifteducation.org
    • ¿Preguntas? Por favor manden un correo electrónico a kgracia@uplifteducation.org
    • 6th Grade (6to grado)

    Homework Due: August 21 (B-Day) & August 22 (A-Day)

    Fecha de Entrega de Tareas: 21 de agosto para el Día B y 22 de agosto para el Día A

    • Vocabulary Man Unit 1 Lesson 3 & Unit 1 Lesson 4
    • Hombre de Vocabulario Unidad 1 Lección 3 y Unidad 1 Lección 4
    • Quizlet Parent Calendar (Past due)
    • Calendario Quizlet mini pruebas firmado (atrasado)
    • Signed Syllabus by parent and scholar (Past due)
    • Plan de Estudios firmado por tutor y becario (atrasado)
    • Scholars need one composition or spiral notebook, and one 3-prong folder
    • Becarios necesitan una libreta de 70-100 páginas y una carpeta
    • Questions? Please e-mail bsanchez@uplifteducation.org
    • ¿Preguntas? Por favor manden un correo electrónico a bsanchez@uplifteducation.org

    August 24th, 2017

    Non-Native Classes

    6th grade & 8th grade only (this month)

    Fresas con Crema (strawberries with cream) and bring your own drink

    *Ten scholars will be invited to this event based on a raffle based on them getting a 100 on their Quizlet Quiz.

    Ask your scholar if they got an invite on August 23rd, 2017!!

     24 de agosto del 2017

    Clases Nativas de 8vo grado solamente

    Rifa de una tarjeta de $10.00 a Starbucks

    Basado en si su estudiante obtuvo un 100 en su prueba de vocabulario

    Pregunten a su becario si gano el 24 de agosto del 2017!!

    6th Grade ELAR Summer Reading Assignment Update

    Hello 6th grade parents!

    We've decided to extend the due date for our summer reading project to Friday, September 1st. As of Friday, 8/18/17, ALL 6th grade scholars should have their assignment.

    There has been a lot of confusion regarding the communication of the project to the primary school, so we want to give all of our scholars enough time to complete the project. A HUGE thank you to those scholars that have already turned the project in!  A copy of the project requirements has been given to scholars. The book “Bridge to Teribithia” can be purchased from Amazon for less than $6, and can also be downloaded to the Kindle App for the same price.  Please don’t hesitate to contact me if you have any questions.

    Ms. King (vking@uplifteducation.org)

     


    PARENTAL INVOLVEMENT IS KEY TO OUR SUCCESS! Remember to GET INVOLVED!! 


     Bulletin Boards Updated-- Done for this month 
    o 6th- 8th at least 1 volunteer needed per month per grade level 

     Teacher Assistance with Copies
    o 6th - 8th at least 1 volunteer needed per day per grade level

    o Copies for Math at least 3 volunteers needed per week

     Hallway Monitors
    o 6th - 8th at least 3 volunteers needed per month

     Cafeteria Monitors
    o 6th- 8th at least 10 volunteers needed per month

     Carline Assistants
    o 6th - 8th at least 3 volunteers needed per day


     

     

    August 21st- B Day

    Scholars should be in professional dress uniform

    August 22nd- A Day

    Scholars should be in uniform

    August 23rd- B Day

    ORANGE AND BLUE DAY for MIDDLE SCHOOL

    August 24th- A Day

    Scholars should be in uniform

    August 25th- B Day

    Scholars should be in uniform

    August 26th- A Day

    Scholars should be in uniform

    August 27th- B Day

    Scholars should be in uniform

    August 28th- A Day

    Scholars should be in uniform

    August 29th- B Day

    Scholars should be in uniform

    August 30th- A Day

    ORANGE AND BLUE DAY for MIDDLE SCHOOL

    August 31st- B Day

    Scholars should be in uniform

    VIP MEETING & ELECTIONS AT 6:00PM

    --PARENTS MUST FINANCIAL TO VOTE--

    President: Preside at general VIP meetings and Executive Board meetings, serve as the official representative of the VIP, and retain all official records of the VIP.
    Vice President: Oversee the committee system of the VIP, assist the President, and chair meetings in the absence of the President. Assume the responsibility of the Recording Secretary in his/her absence.
    Recording Secretary: Record and distribute minutes of all Executive Board meetings and all general VIP meetings, prepare agendas for official VIP meetings, and hold historical records for the VIP.
    Communications Secretary: Manage communications and marketing for the VIP, including but not limited to VIP newsletters, email broadcasts, website, bulletin boards, etc.
    Treasurer: Serve as custodian of the VIP’s finances, collect revenue, pay authorized expenses, follow all financial policies of Uplift Education and hold all financial records.

    CANDIDATES

    President
    Floyd Sanders
    Christopher Bradford

    VP-Primary School
    LaShonda Burger

    VP-Middle School
    Kelvin Muse

    VP-High School 
    Floyd Sanders

    Recording Secretary
    Candice Lowe

    Communications Secretary
    Pierette Parker-Wheat
    Melissa Brown
    Adrian Guillory

    Treasurer
    Macara Santiago

    CHRISTOPHER BRADFORD

    CANDIDATE FOR VIP PRESIDENT K-12

    KELVIN MUSE, SR.

    CANDIDATE FOR VIP VICE-PRESIDENT FOR MIDDLE SCHOOL

    CANDICE LOWE

    CANDIDATE FOR VIP RECORDING SECRETARY K-12

    September 1st- A Day


    TUTORING SCHEDULE

    Monday Tutoring Schedule:

    6th & 8th Grade Theatre

    6th, 7th, & 8th Grade Non-Native Spanish     

    7th Grade Math

    Tuesday Tutoring Schedule:

    7th Grade Theatre

    7th & 8th Grade Native Spanish 

                                       6th, 7th, & 8th Grade ELAR                                   

    6th, 7th, & 8th Grade Science

    Thursday Tutoring Schedule:

    6th, 7th, & 8th Grade Humanities

    6th, 7th, & 8th Grade Math 


    2017-2018 Middle School Staff List and Email Addresses

    Director: Mrs. Andrea Anderson-Parks: aparks@uplifteducation.org

    Dean of Scholars: Ms. Yalea Baughman: ybaughman@uplifteducation.org

    MYP Dean: Mr. David Gardner: dgardner@uplifteducation.org

    Behavior Specialist: Ranae Thomas: rathomas@uplifteducation.org

    Hybrid Math Teacher: Ms. Isabella Pietroboni: ipietroboni@uplifteducation.org

    6th English: Ms. Vanessa King: vking@uplifteducation.org

    6th Humanities: Ms. Caira Heinze: cheinze@uplifteducation.org

    6th Math: Ms. Domoneicqua Williams: dwilliams@uplifteducation.org

    6th Spanish: Ms. Brenda Sanchez: bsanchez@uplifteducation.org

    6th Science: Jamie Coleman: jcomelan@uplifteducation.org

    7th English (Writing): Ms. Drew Wille: dwille@uplifteducation.org

    7th English (Reading): Mr. Xavier Leonard: xleonard@uplifteducation.org

    7th Humanities: Mr. Chadwick Smith: chadsmith@uplifteducation.org

    7th Math: Ms. Denishia Harris: deharris@uplifteducation.org

    7th Science: Ms. Brenda Guzman: bguzman@uplifteducation.org

    7th Spanish: Ms. Karina Gracia: kgracia@uplifteducation.org

    8th English: Mrs. Trenese Lamb-Peters: tlambpeters@uplifteducation.org

    8th Humanities: Mr. David Luna: dvluna@uplifteducation.org

    8th Science: Ms. Tonia Iwule: tiwule@uplifteducation.org

    8th Spanish: Ms. Sheila Segovia: ssegovia@uplifteducation.org

    ESL TA: Ms. Felicia Wallace: fwallace@uplifteducation.org

    Interventionist: Mrs. Cynthia Brown: cbrown@uplifteducation.org

    Interventionist: Dr. Arturo Cantu: acantu@uplifteducation.org

    6th Physical Education: Mr. Ryan Range: rrange@uplifteducation.org

    7th Physical Education: Mr. Coty Wright: cowright@uplifteducation.org

    8th Physical Education: Ms. Chelsie Bell: cbell@uplifteducation.org

    Social Counselor: Ms. ReaNoel Navarrete: rnavarrete@uplifteducation.org

    Special Education: Mrs. Sierra Work: shood@uplifteducation.org

    Special Education: Ms. Anquenette Candler: acandler@uplifteducation.org

    Special Education: Ms. J'necia Jackson: jjackson@uplifteducation.org

    Special Education: Mr. Austin Yater: ayater@uplifteducation.org

    6th Technology: Mr. Mark Mcwhorter: mmcwhorter@uplifteducation.org

    7th Technology: Mr. Charles Miles: cmiles@uplifteducation.org

    6th Theatre: Ms. Christina Norton: cnorton@uplifteducation.org

    7th Theatre:Ms. Amber Prince: aprince@uplifteducation.org

    8th Theatre: Ms. Ann Rowe: anrowe@uplifteducation.org

    8th Theatre: Ms. Christine Sanders: csanders@uplifteducation.org

     
     
     
  •